This article is a complete rundown of exactly what is being updated with our mid-2017 overhaul to billing. You can turn on these updates by changing the setting at Billing > Billing Options > New Billing.
Note that credit notifications are no longer used in the new billing and any existing will disappear when you change the setting.
If you use Taxes, on the Base Services page you will see the ability to setup a custom tax rate for that particular service.
If you use Taxes, those taxes are calculated for each visit on the Master Schedule and will be reflected on the invoice.
On the Master Schedule you can now set a Discount % for each visit. This discount will be reflected on the invoice. If you have clients that has a discount % setup you should see their discount here. The Discount % can be Bulk Edited.
ANY change in price (higher or lower) to a visit which has been invoiced will result in the invoice being immediately updated to reflect the current price. If that invoice has already been paid and the new invoice total is lower, part of the payment will be unapplied so it can be applied to another invoice. If the Transaction is set to Auto-apply (see below) the system will automatically apply it to another of the client's invoices, if there is one with a balance.
Other changes which automatically affect invoices and visits:
1) If a visit is set to Not Invoiced or deleted on the Master Schedule it will be removed from the invoice it was on.
2) If an invoice is deleted all visits on that invoice will be set to Not Invoiced.
When you manually create new invoices, editing a visit in the queue will bring you to the single visit editor on the Master Schedule. When you save you will be brought back to the invoice queue.
When you manually create new invoices there is a new "Do Not Invoice" button in the invoice queue (this does the same thing as setting Already Invoiced to "Yes").
There are now two types of Invoice Line Items:
1) "Visit" line items, which have a calendar icon. Clicking on that icon will bring you to the single visit editor on the Master Schedule. When you save the visit you will be brought back to the invoice and it will be updated to reflect your changes. Removing a Visit line item will set the visit as Not Invoiced.
2) "Custom" line items, which have a pencil icon. Clicking on that icon will allow you to edit the line item on the current page. Custom line items are not connected to visits and will never be updated automatically.
Any invoices created before mid-March 2017 will contain all Custom line items.
Packages aren't linked to invoices in the same way visits are so those are still Custom line items. In the future we'll probably add this.
On the Transactions page you can set each transaction to Auto-apply. This is only relevant if the Transaction has an unapplied amount. What this means is whenever a new invoice is created for that client the system will auto-apply the unapplied amount of the transaction to that new invoice.
All existing Transactions in the system are set to NOT auto-apply. All future transactions after the new billing has been enabled for your site will default to auto-apply. You can edit any Transaction and change its auto-apply setting.
If you use Frequency or Combination Discounts the price difference will now appear under "Discount" instead of being subtracted from the base price of a visit.
There are various other odds and ends which are no longer necessary with this new billing so they have been hidden. For example, Credit notifications and the "Offset Credit Notices" on the Transactions > Credits page.
All automatic actions that the system performs are logged and you can see them on the Administrative > Activity Log page (and in the history for the Visit/Invoice/Transaction).